Even Doctors Need Doctors

We all know the feeling of wanting to be present for others but having little energy or motivation to do what we want to do.  We want to help others carry their burdens but can hardly carry our own.  We try to beat our bodies and our minds into submission and push through, but it feels like running a marathon with a ball-and-chain on our ankles.  Ever wonder why?

There are multiple reasons that can get us to that point, but it all comes down to needing to look after ourselves.  Perhaps I focus so much on caring for others that I’m neglecting myself.  Perhaps I’m so busy that I’m not hearing my mind or my body telling me to slow down.  Perhaps I’m struggling with difficult circumstances that take most of my energy and I should, therefore, cut out the unnecessary stuff in my agenda, or at least put off what can wait.  Perhaps there is darkness from my past that’s asking to be dealt with.  Whatever the reason may be, it’s important for us to figure out where our energy is being spent when we’re feeling heavily burdened.  This can require talking to someone who’s removed from the situation who could give us a more objective point of view on the matter.

So when you’re feeling down, take a step back and think about it.  You have something to learn from it, and something to change.  If someone you know is living this, listen patiently and say what you see with all the honesty and kindness within you.

Be a light to your world today!

Leave a Reply

